The Torah passages (parshiot)

The Torah Passages (Parshiot) – What do They Contain?
The Parshiot contain the four passages in the Torah which deal with the commandment of wearing tefillin.
They are inscribed on parchment and inserted in the Batim.

The passages are:
“Sanctify to Me all the firstborn…” (Exodus 13:1-10),
“And it shall be when the L-rd shall bring thee into the land…” (Exodus 13:11-17),,
“Hear O Israel…” (Deuteronomy 6:4-9),
“And it shall come to pass, if you hearken…” (Deuteronomy 11:13-22)

Each passage is written twice
In the tefillin Shel Yad, the passages are written in a prescribed order on one continuous piece of parchment. In the tefillin Shel Rosh, the passages are also written in a prescribed order, but each passage is written on a separate parchment.

The four Passages (Parshiot) shel yad (one unit)

The four parshiot (passages) shel rosh, (four units)


The tefillin straps  <                                  >  The parchment